Anders Monthly Book Report. Or non fiction authors and the quality of their examples.

Posted:
in AppleOutsider edited January 2014
So I wanted to get some inspiration from some books that are slightly besides my field of science (I am studying sociology) and I brought with me a handful audiobooks on my vacation and while they are very interesting and have been the sources of inspiration I am of the school that if you present an idea or a theory in social sciences you must always be able to track it back to concrete examples in the course of the argument. So when I read (or listen in this case) to books that includes lots of examples the text becomes much more interesting for me. A lot of times that doesn´t happen and you only refer back to other theory or your examples take the form of analogies or metaphors. But in these instances I am quite surprised by the quality of their examples. The poor quality.

The wisdom of crowds by James Surowiecki.

This book is filled with examples that tries to support the authors point, that groups are much better at reaching decisions than single heroes or experts. And they fail one after the other at showing his point. At least the first ten have holes in then as large as the statues of liberty. Let me just take the two first ones.

1) Who wants to be a millionaire. Why is it that the audience is so much more reliable than the life lines? Isn´t that because crowds are more intelligent than the single expert? No, its because of the law of large numbers. The question has to be constructed as a trick question for the crowd to be wrong. If only a handful of the audience know the answer it will shine through when conducting the pole among the audience unless the producers have been very conscious of tricking it with the three wrong answers. And it is much less likely for one person, no matter how knowledgeable he or she is, to be right. Its not the crowd that is wise. Its the single persons in it.