Music on my mac. How?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Ok, I'm thinking about getting into digital music. What would I need to start out? This will just be a hobby, so I don't need high end (or even medium end. Or is that middle??) I guess, I'd like to know what the bare minimum would be for a complete newbie. Is there any free software that I could just try out before dumping loads of cash? What type of system would I need? (I hope you tell me that a new iMac would work ) Any recs would be great. TIA.

-t

Comments

• Reply 1 of 30
    You mean digitally recording some instrument(s) that you play, or creating the music entirely within your Mac (using software synths and/or software samplers and/or software effects processors)?
  • Reply 2 of 30
    torifiletorifile Posts: 4,024member
    [quote]Originally posted by sizzle chest:

<strong>You mean digitally recording some instrument(s) that you play, or creating the music entirely within your Mac (using software synths and/or software samplers and/or software effects processors)?</strong><hr></blockquote>

Creating the music entirely on my mac. Eventually, I'd like to record stuff that I play, but until I get good enough to be worth the HD space, I'd like to see what I can do with my computer.
  • Reply 3 of 30
    Buy a program called "Reason" by Propellerheads, a German software company.

Reason is a "virtual electronic studio" allowing you to emulate, in software, the function of a whole variety of hardware electronic music devices.

You can get it most places for $279 or so, and it will allow you to tinker & play around, and it will also grow with you to whatever extent you desire. You could create entire albums of material with nothing but Reason and a CDR drive!
  • Reply 5 of 30
    4fx4fx Posts: 258member