Wine suggestions

Posted:
in AppleOutsider edited January 2014
Hola. I'm looking for some good red wines. I don't want really cheap crap, but I'm a college student. Any suggestions?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 22
    giantgiant Posts: 6,041member
    Start trying anything in the import section of your liquor or grocery store that isn't straight merlot or cabernet. You also shouldn't have to spend more than $10 ($15 at the absolute most) for great bottles of wine. If you are just looking for some wine for an event or something, just pick a normal looking sangiovese, chianti, crianza or malbec and it should be fine. Get two bottles just in case one has problems. French wines are great, but choosing a good one can be complicated.
  • Reply 2 of 22
    shawnjshawnj Posts: 6,656member
    I hear the '61 Cheval Blancs are peaking.
  • Reply 3 of 22
    kishankishan Posts: 732member
    What have you tried in the past that you like? Unfortunately, "red wine" is nearly as broad a term as "wine" itself. Do you prefer something dry, something with a lot of fruit, something with a high alcohol content, spicy/peppery...?

If you are totally new to wine drinking I would recommend one of several wines.

The first is any French wine from the Beaujolais region. These tend to be gentle wines that are easily drank with or without food. Louis Jadot and George Duboeuf are two of the most prominent houses that make this variety. You should be able to find a good Beaujolais for $10-20.

Second are California Merlots or perhaps an Australian Cabernet/Merlot blend. Two well known brands are the Blackstone Merlot out of California and Rosemount wineries from Australia. Again, these should be in the $10-20 range.

As Giant said, you shouldn't have to spend much to get a good bottle of wine these days. The more expensive stuff is usually wine with a pedigree.