Getting a PowerBook: What should I know?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I'm almost positive that I'll be getting a PowerBook (15") within the next month or two. What should I know? I'll be moving from an iMac FP, so I'm used to a desk keyboard and MX1000. I'll get over it. Are there any awesome laptop-centric utilities (I had a vision of tapping the corners of the trackpad to act as right, center, Exposé, etc. buttons? cell phone interaction... battery monitoring)?

I'm a student. I'm used to carrying around a backpack with notebooks, textbooks, etc.. What would be the best way to carry the 'Book? Does the battery last long enough for a day of school or should I bring the power adapter?

I'm just looking for any wisdom of experience from the AI community.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 14
    first thing to do, wait four weeks. then, we'll talk.
  • Reply 2 of 14
    Quote:

Originally posted by _ alliance _

first thing to do, wait four weeks. then, we'll talk.

I don't really want an Intel 'Book now. For a while, there will be way too much Rosetta emulation.

If any updates are REALLY good, I'll take the eBay/store return route.

I'm looking for other tips.
  • Reply 3 of 14
    Quote:

Originally posted by PathD?mon

I don't really want an Intel 'Book now. For a while, there will be way too much Rosetta emulation.

If any updates are REALLY good, I'll take the eBay/store return route.

I'm looking for other tips.

ok, well another side to that coin is that since the Pbooks are basically the same specs as they were 2 years ago, they're overpriced right now. so...with the new intel books, you could probably get a good deal on the G4s...

aside from that...