Apple vs PC

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Initially a PC person, I have had the opportunity to work on a Mac at my job for two years now, and I've gotten very comfortable with it. I'm now in need of a laptop, and though my home computers are PCs, I'm looking at a Powerbook G4 as my new purchase.

This will be used mostly for school and business...I'm looking to get Office (business version); my applications are mostly for writing, Quickbooks Pro and general work stuff, presentations and some music. I also like the CD/DVD play and burn capabilities.

I'm not a techie at all, but I wanted to check in with long-time Mac fans to see what your opinions are...since the G4 is a more expensive purchase (especially with the Office software), why would it be (or not) the superior purchase? Is it compatable with an HP (Deskjet 612c, if anyone's curious) printer, or do I need to buy something more compatable? Is there software available that can help my Mac files be readable on my PC (with Windows XP), or should I just give my PC to my hubby and use my laptop for everything?

All other comments/advice would be wonderful!

Many thanks for everyone's help,

NewMacFan

Comments

• Reply 1 of 20
    Yay! New switchers are always good.

Welcome to the light side... xP

I don't know if a PowerBook will be best for you in the long run. If you didn't know, Apple is switching their Mac line to include Intel processors, and the PowerBook G4 is one of the first lines that's going to be switched.

The MacBook Pro is a good line to look at, considering it's at the same price level as the PowerBook (1.63 GHz 15" MBP Core Duo to 1.67 GHZ 15" PB G4). It's a lot faster than the PowerBook G4 too. The Intel-native applications of the ones you're going to use will come out in coming months. If you happen to have or know someone who has a PowerPC version, it will run just fine under Rosetta.