Backing up apps?

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Hi, i'm new to the whole mac thing so excuse me if this is a completely stupid question!

I have a mac mini running OS X I bough 2nd hand last weekend. It has an OS X upgrade DVD with it (from memory I think it's running 10.2.xxx and the DVD is 10.4) which I would like to use. I would also like to use the 'format the HDD' option and start from a fresh install so I know exactly what files etc are on it.

The only problem with this is I want to keep the applications and don't have install media for some. Seeing how macs work can I just make a copy of the contents of the applications folder to CD/external HDD and then copy them back once the upgrade/format is complete?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    hey... im a semi-vet of the ac process, and for backing up software, especially if it takes up a lot of room... then a good investment of what i want to make is that of an external hard drive... they're nice... 200GB is plenty if your just backing up pictures, music, certain software... thats what i want to get. b/c i have a lot of pictures and music that i'd like to throw on the external hdd when i upgrade, ext... thats what i reccommend... or blank cd's if you dont want to spend money for the external hdd or cant afford or something
  • Reply 2 of 7
    Yeah, I have a 200Gb external HDD - I would need a whole lot of CD's to back up all my data!

Am I right in thinking I can copy the contents of the applications folder straight off, rebuild the mac, and copy it back and the apps will work?
  • Reply 3 of 7
    Quote:

Originally posted by Z3roForc3

Yeah, I have a 200Gb external HDD - I would need a whole lot of CD's to back up all my data!

Am I right in thinking I can copy the contents of the applications folder straight off, rebuild the mac, and copy it back and the apps will work?