Question for Switchers

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I was discussing this on a separate thread and decided to start a new one specifically for it. I've heard from so many PC users who have never touched a mac how bad macs are and that they're useless as computer, many of those same PC users are now Mac users after having first used a Mac. I want to know, why? Why is there such a vehement hatred for the Macintosh by those that have never used it? What did you think of macs before trying them and why?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 42
    I have found this too. I'm waiting for my first Mac to arrive (Intel iMac) and have found a lot of opposition from my friends regarding the quality of Macs, and I know these people have never used one. I'm a final year undergraduate in Computer Science and this attitude is from people on my course who you'd think would at least research something before mouthing off about it. IMHO, it's just something that people seem to pass to other people because it's what everyone else is saying. And sadly, a year ago, maybe even less I was doing the same.

Once I got my iPod last year I started investigating Apple products in general and decided to make the jump once they started shipping with Intel. That's come around a little quicker than I thought it would! I'm not exactly sure why I chose that particular point to start out with Macs, I guess it was just a nice clean break. Now I'm so excited and can't wait to get my hands on it and just take it for a run.

Even if I find I hate my Mac at least I can say I tried. That's more than other people who slate them just because that's what others say. Maybe by having a Mac and being around them I can demonstrate what they're all about and open some eyes.

Then again, maybe they're just glued shut...
  • Reply 2 of 42
    brussellbrussell Posts: 9,812member