Should Script Editor on an Intel iMac generate PowerPC apps?

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I'm just getting into AppleScript and found that one of the applications I created with the Script Editor is compiled as a PowerPC binary. It's only a silly little thing, but does anyone out there know whether there is a way to get it to compile Universal applications?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    lundylundy Posts: 4,466member
    Quote:

Originally posted by AllBrain

I'm just getting into AppleScript and found that one of the applications I created with the Script Editor is compiled as a PowerPC binary. It's only a silly little thing, but does anyone out there know whether there is a way to get it to compile Universal applications?

"Compile" in AppleScript just means to tokenize the source to bytecode, not to machine language. So the underlying CPU should not matter, as the script just gets interpreted by the OS as it is run. Your script should run fine on any OS X Mac.

Strange that it says PPC - I guess they forgot to make a label for "Neither".
  • Reply 2 of 5
    That's fair enough. It was only a tiny little program for scaling an image that I copied the source code from online but it just struck me as strange that that would happen.

It's not like ten lines of AppleScript are going to cause Rosetta too much trouble but I thought I'd see whether anyone else knew whether there was an option I could check to make them Intel binaries.
  • Reply 3 of 5
    "Intel Macs currently use Rosetta to run AppleScripts. AppleScripts do not need to be saved as Universal Binary (nor can they be); AppleScript Studio applications can be compiled to run on PowerPC and/or Intel Macs, but this is the developer's responsibility."

According to: http://www.dougscripts.com/itunes/faq_cont.php#whatsas