Help Choosing a Display

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hello Im looking to purchase a new display to couple with my 15inch macbook pro. Im looking for something along the lines of a 19 or 20 inch widscreen. Ive seen a bunch and im not to sure. I have been reading reviews also and going nuts on which one to purchase. Money is a problem because I am a student and I need the best price to performance ratio as possible. I have selected these monitors.

Samsung 204B (1600x1200, 5ms, 800:1, 300cd/m2)

Benq FP202W (1680x1050, 8ms, 600:1, 300cd/m2)

ViewSonic VX2025WM (1680x1050, 8ms, 800:1, 300cd/m2)

Any other suggestions are welcome. It must have DVI and stay around the 300 to 350 range or cheaper. Thank you for your time.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    I have the Viewsonic, and it really is a nice display. The only shortfall is *minor* backlight bleed when the screen is black.
  • Reply 2 of 15
    do you t hink it is better than the samsung? Im doing alot of grapic art projects and video editing
  • Reply 3 of 15
    still havnt made a decision between the samsung or viewsonic any suggestions? i got the money to purchase it now and was wondering what to get.
  • Reply 4 of 15
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Andrew266

still havnt made a decision between the samsung or viewsonic any suggestions? i got the money to purchase it now and was wondering what to get.

The Samsungs have been tons of problems IIRC. I'd go with either the Viewsonic, or this LG: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824005070.
  • Reply 5 of 15
    placeboplacebo Posts: 5,767member
    If NEC has any 1600x1200 screens, go for that. Glossy coating and great video hardware.
  • Reply 6 of 15
    krisnephkrisneph Posts: 143member
    Get a Dell 20" widescreen. Look for coupons online. You might be able to get it for like $350.00. I have the older version and they are great. I'm gonna add another.
  • Reply 7 of 15