Why Macbooks are NOT overpriced...

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
From the "you get what you pay for" dept:

Apperently, It is physicly impossible to use both included USB ports at the same time on certin Dell notebooks. It is pathetic industrial design like that (and the esposed pop-ribbits holding together their low-to-mid range towers) that make Dell the laughingstock of the computing community, yet they sell so damn many...

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    placeboplacebo Posts: 5,767member
    Yeah, after all, a lot of R&D, manufacturing costs, and increased margins are necessary for a company to NOT BE RETARDED.
  • Reply 2 of 15
    Hey Dell makes great computer for the average folks. Imagine if your a college student with only 300 bucks and you need a new computer. You can get a dell. Its like they are out there to benefit people.
  • Reply 3 of 15
    Coming from SGI, and onto MAC's, I am a long time user of propietary hardware, even when I was a student only a few years ago. Mac's are a lot cheaper than an effective SGI off eBay plus software. So when learning 3d/video/compositing what do you by? a £3000 second hand SGI, a new £1500 mac, or a piece of shit dell for £280 which can't do squat?

I rarely saw art/video/games students going out to get a cheap laptop, Mac's were the way for maya, photoshop, combustion, flash, and final cut.

Apple really could do with some new strategies to drive down the cost even more, the intel's will aid this process but it will take time.
  • Reply 4 of 15
    nerudaneruda Posts: 439member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by teatimebing

Apple really could do with some new strategies to drive down the cost even more, the intel's will aid this process but it will take time.