Outlook Replacement

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Im new to the Mac OS and just bought a MacBook Pro can any one recommend an outlook replacement. I need it to have email capabilities obviously and a calender and contracts. Thanks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 16
    splinemodelsplinemodel Posts: 7,311member
    Other than Outlook, the built in Mail client ("Mail") is the only program I'm aware of -- on any platform -- that can connect to Exchange servers. It also works with iCal (also built-in) to do calendar stuff. If an Outlook user sends you a meeting notifaction from outlook, you can double click on it (it shows up as an attachment) and it will load into iCal. Add Address Book and there's your contacts list.

All together they are three apps, but they all work together seamlessly and come with Mac OS X. Supposedly, in the next version of OS X, Mail will absorb these two features, turning the three apps into one. Each individual app is substantially superior to their equivalent features in Outlook, plus, they don't drag your system to a standstill the way Outlook does from time to time. I use Outlook at work, and the mac equivalent is vastly superior, albeit a bit different.
  • Reply 2 of 16
    meelashmeelash Posts: 1,045member
    In my experience, these three apps work together better than MS's mashed together multiple-apps-in-one Outlook solution. That being said there might be some particular feature that you've gotten used to in Outlook, the replacement of which may not be readily apparent. If so, just post it here and we'll try and help you out!

Good luck (and welcome to the forums)
  • Reply 3 of 16
    Ok thanks guys.
  • Reply 4 of 16