MacBook 13.3 vs MacBook Pro 15

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hello,

I have to get a new Intel Mac for college because my group in my Software Engineering class has voted as a team to use Windows (not my choice). I have been reading alot of stuff about the problems with the Macbooks and the Macbook Pros and I was wondering which one I should buy. I really need the laptop to be realiable, and I am getting kind of worried about the reviews I have been reading about the MacBook 13.3 laptop. I have to run a dual boot Mac OS X and Windows XP Pro.

I am leaning towards the MacBook Pro, I was just wondering what other people thought. Again I am a Software Engineer Major and I need my laptop to be able to run Windows XP Pro and Microsoft Visual Studio.

Personally I would not do our project in Visual Studio but I have to go along with the team.

ALSO should I wait for the Core 2 Duo to come out in the MacBook Pro.

Thank you so much,

iGrant

Comments

• Reply 1 of 20
    My personal advice would be to get the MacBook Pro, and wait a few more weeks for Merom. I think that the graphics in the MBP will be what suites your needs best, and to be honest, if you have the money it's worth it. I have a MacBook and it's nice, I have no complaints at all, but the extra screen space and better graphics would have been nice.
  • Reply 2 of 20
    Actually I'd like to hear what people think about the MB vs MBP too. Amazon has the 1.83ghz MBP for $1500 after rebate so that makes it way too close to the Black Macbook price to ignore.

So given the choice of 1.82ghz MBP vs 2.0ghz MB then which would you prefer? Are the heat/logic board issues enough to warrant one over the other?
  • Reply 3 of 20
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,301moderator