Swap of stock MacBook HD

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
So I am going to be purchasing a MacBook and was going to swap out the stock 60gb drive with a faster ATA 7200 drive rather than upgrading to the 5400 100gb. Are there any issues I should be aware of? I assume that the 7200 rpm drives will work fine. I am new to the Mac world and will be making the "switch"

Thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    chuckerchucker Posts: 5,089member
    It'll work fine, assuming the drive you intend to purchase is Serial ATA.
  • Reply 1 of 15
    imacfanimacfan Posts: 444member
    Remember that it is SATA you need.

EDIT: Chucker got there before me!
  • Reply 3 of 15
    guarthoguartho Posts: 1,208member
    Also, it's a tight fit in there so make certain to double-triple check the dimensions.
  • Reply 4 of 15
    There's only two different sizes, either 12.5mm height (which will not fit) or 9.5mm, and the former is increasingly uncommon.
  • Reply 5 of 15
    baygbmbaygbm Posts: 147member
    Why not just buy the MB with the size drive you want? My feeling is that buying a new MB and immediately swapping out the hard drive is an invitation to trouble… Sure it looks like a simple swap, but so many things could go wrong. Is saving a few dollars on an after market drive really worth it? I don’t think so.

Imagine the headache involved if the drive doesn’t fit correctly and you have to send it back... Imagine if you damage a connector and have to send in the MB for repair (I doubt a warranty would cover such work)... Now, imagine going for three or four weeks without the MB while it is in for service...

Don’t be penny wise and pound foolish. Saving a few dollars may seem like the smart thing to do, but you may end up outsmarting yourself.
  • Reply 6 of 15
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by baygbm

Why not just buy the MB with the size drive you want?

Apple offers no 7200 RPM 100 GB option for the MB, only for the MBP.
  • Reply 7 of 15