Graphic Designer ? 24" iMac or Mac Pro?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I am a graphic designer working exclusively within CS2.

Would you guys recommend a 24" iMac or a Mac Pro?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 14
    I reccommend a G5 Quad. Purely because CS2 isn't universal and will run at speeds of a high end G4 on intel machines.
  • Reply 2 of 14
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Messiah

I read something from linked to in another forum on Mac Fix It (I think) about problems with Adobe apps running on the Mac Pro's, and Adobe's unwillingness to help people who had support contracts help them resolve the problems. I havn't heard the same problems on the original Intel iMacs so it might be isolated to the Pro's for some reason. I would do your homework before relying on Rosetta for your livelihood and check reports on Mac Fix It and www.macintouch.com to see if this seams to be widespread, and if so be willing to spend some time on the Phone with Apple to trouble shoot Rosetta so that these PowerPC based programs run properly.

Other than that, as a designer, I don't see how you could go wrong. The screen size is great, and speed should be fine for most print and online media creation. Since Adobe apps won't be UB until next spring and your relying on Rosetta to run them I would get as much memory as possible, but other than that it has everything your probably need.
  • Reply 3 of 14
    lundylundy Posts: 4,466member
    That report on MacFixit is troublesome. The guy said he is crashing constantly in CS2 under Rosetta and Adobe won't help him because the CS2 box says "for G4 and G5", not Intel Macs.

http://www.macfixit.com/article.php?...60907081235462
  • Reply 4 of 14