Odyssey: Converting 1800+ CSV files to HTML via Excel 2004

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Howdy,

I have 1800+ CSV contact files that I must convert to HTML files in Excel. The orginal source files vary widely in length and structure, but I have been able to structure them using TextWrangler and a few other programs.

To date, only by using Excel's conversion engine can I automatically get the superior consistency and error-tolerance I need to process what are poorly-formed and inconsistent CSV files into well-formed HTML output. With it, I can then will run each file through a really nifty program called Anthracite by Metafy in order to export the tables into arrays. These arrays will then import into Filemaker or some other database for final normalization.

But of course I have hit the limit of operator knowledge. I'm an analyst, not a programmer. I've been working on this stuff for weeks.The learning curve has been steep, not the least of which is due to the fact I've had to use a bunch of different new tools to get to where I'm at now. Upstream there was a bunch of preprocessing that had to happen just to convert my old files into this format and get rid of the unnecessary tags and other information, but that's another story. There may be other ways to do this, but I am focused on doing it this way, and have invested huge hours to get it 95% done. It's the final 5% that's killing me.