About to make the switch...

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi all,

I'm a lifelong PC user about to purchase a 15" MBP. I have two questions:

1. Most games run pretty well in Boot Camp, right? Will the video card be powerful enough to last me for another 4 years or so? My current laptop has a Radeon Mobility 9000 that has run Black and White, The Sims, and all manner of Warcraft with no hiccups... but I'd like some smoother action in first-person shooters. Can the MBP deliver?

2. Is AppleCare worth it? I'm a college student and don't have a lot of cash to throw around, but the fact that the hard drive isn't user-replaceable terrifies me. What's the worst that can happen if I don't get AppleCare?

Any advice is appreciated... thanks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    guarthoguartho Posts: 1,208member
    I would get Applecare on a laptop. I had an iBook G4 that I loved, but the logic board crapped out at about 1 1/2 years. I did not have Applecare and couldn't afford to repair or replace it. I had to part it out and try to get some investment back out.
  • Reply 2 of 15
    Get AppleCare! Every repair, even if it's only the closing mechanism in the display, will probably cost you more than AppleCare. Replacing the display alone would be over 500 USD...The good thing is, however, that you don't have to buy AppleCare right away. Do so at any time during the first year after the purchase and you'll be fine.

Don't know about the games thing, but notebooks usually don't have very strong graphics chips inside (exception: some huge, heavy, loud and ugly as hell Dell notebooks). Why don't you buy the cheaper model and get a "real" game console?

P.S. Welcome to the forums!
  • Reply 3 of 15
    irelandireland Posts: 17,798member
    Buy a MacBook and buy a PS3. I velcum you too.
  • Reply 4 of 15