Need help choosing a Mac to experiment with

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I'm by definition a Windows person. But, I want to experiment with OS X. The problem is that I don't want to invest a lot of money only to find out that I don't like the OS or something like that. I'm cheap (almost a hobo by Apple's pricing) and even the $600 for a Mac Mini is expensive when you're someone who has become used to the idea of building a PC just as good or better for less. I'm not saying OS X and the Mac is bad, other than the pricing, just that I'm having a hard time of figuring out how I can get a good cheap Mac that can fully utilize all that OS X can do. The main stuff I want to mess around with is all of the iLife stuff but also networking stuff since I'm studying Computer Networking and Systems Administration in college. I looked on eBay and found iBooks for like $200 but once I did some research I discovered that the iBooks (dual USB)were, for lack of a better word, were crap. I'm having a hard time figuring out what is a good Mac to get to experiment with the OS. I'm honestly not sure what specs I need to run OS X and run it well. I've considered trying out the OSx86 Project but after reading into it I've found that it's probably more of a pain than it might be worth and I don't know if I could even get it to work. Can I just borrow somebodies Mac? lol

Thanks

P.S. My budget is probably somewhere like $300 or less for either a laptop or desktop. I don't want have to upgrade a used computer and have it cost the same as a Mini and is only like half as good.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,326moderator
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by The_Randomized_Guy

I'm by definition a Windows person. But, I want to experiment with OS X. The problem is that I don't want to invest a lot of money only to find out that I don't like the OS or something like that.

Na na na na. If you want it bad enough, you gotta pay