rosetta not working?

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Im pretty new to the Mac camp so forgive a rookie error, but Rosetta is just there and just works right? But not for me

Im trying to run GLMStatX 6.0.0, its a ppc statistics app. It runs on my supervisors mac-intel-book pro, but not my macbook. Am i missing something obvious? It loads into the dock for a split second then vanishes. I also tried burnx free, firestarterfx, mactheripper, all have the same behaviour.

I am running stoplight, but it isn't set to close if last window, and i am running application enhancer (rosetta compatable version as part of audio hijack pro) and have tried disabling it but nothing helped. Any other danger apps? Should i remove these completely? (id rather not)

I would really appreciate any advice on this.

thanks,

Phil

ps - firefox3 alpha is worth a look...its even cocoa...

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,324moderator
    You didn't by any chance run Monolingual and forget to turn off the option that removes all the PPC stuff from your machine?
  • Reply 2 of 5
    lundylundy Posts: 4,466member
    Try killing Rosetta - in Terminal,

sudo killall translated
  • Reply 3 of 5

I tried the terminal option, and then checked the monolingual site, checked the console for the errors they describe and what do you know...

Marvin, you got me...

So where do i go now? If it a clean install? Can they be replaced using pacifica? Advice would be really appreciated. Can i repair/upgrade my install to reinstall those files but not touch the rest of the system (docs, apps etc)?

Thanks very much,

Phil
  • Reply 4 of 5
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,324moderator
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by thestickman

I tried the terminal option, and then checked the monolingual site, checked the console for the errors they describe and what do you know...

Marvin, you got me...