Advice on buying a mac whilst in the USA

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I am going to be traveling to NY in early 2007. With the dollar being so weak against the pound at the moment, purchasing a mac whilst there will be far far cheaper. I am looking at getting a macbook 2.0Ghz Core 2 Duo which retails for around £913 in the UK but I can grab it for £826 with student discount as I am currently at university (this is why I am after a laptop as I am a graphic designer).

The same mac to buy instore from apple in the USA is only £660 which is cheaper than the cheapest macbook in the UK. Obviously, financially it makes far more sense to purchase one whilst I am over there.

Is there anything I should know about going down this route? E.g. when I bring it back to the UK will I lose my warranty? I believe if the macbook is still packaged in its original box and sealed I'm likely to get stung by import duty (any ideas how much this will be btw), but I was told by a friend if I send it back to myself from the US to a residential address I wont have to pay any import duty as it can be declared as a gift (not the case if am company/business was sending it direct from their premises). Anything else or any otherways of picking up the same laptop at a similar price would be of great help.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    I don't believe you will have any problems. Just buy the 3 year warrantee.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    Why would you suggest that I get the 3 year warranty? Do macs have a habbit of breaking or something?
  • Reply 3 of 8
    amoryaamorya Posts: 1,103member
    Discard the packaging and take back the laptop in a standard laptop case. You may get import duty problems even if you declare it a gift.
  • Reply 4 of 8
    I say: do it. Listen to amorya about the duty, and get used to having, as far as I know, a slightly different keyboard layout.
  • Reply 5 of 8
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by perl105