Macbook vs. Macbook Pro: External Display and Photoshop

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
So, I'm in the market for a new notebook and I'm trying to decide between a Macbook and Macbook Pro. For reference, I'm a UI designer/developer.

I typically work with an external 20" display. The only intensive graphics work I do is Photoshop. No gaming, no video.

Basically I'm wondering if I will see any difference between MB and MBP in Photoshop, specifically when driving a largish external display. I may be upgrading to a 23-24" display soon, so that should be considered as well.

Anyone with this experience?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    Photoshop needs a lot of ram and the ram that the macbook video card eats up system ram.

also a real video card is better for big displays.
  • Reply 2 of 5
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Joe_the_dragon View Post

Photoshop needs a lot of ram and the ram that the macbook video card eats up system ram.

also a real video card is better for big displays.

The MacBook is good for up to a 20" external screen (1600*1200). With the larger 23/24" displays, a little lag in screen responsiveness is noticeable. You probably better get the MacBook Pro if you want to use a large screen in the future.
  • Reply 3 of 5
    Get the Pro. Cuz it's just cooler.

In addition to what's been said, I've come to the conclusion that it's a better choice for the long-run. If you're disigning, anyway.

Good luck with everything. (:
  • Reply 4 of 5
    galleygalley Posts: 971member
    From my testing, the MacBook simply can't push a large external display for more than 24 hours at a time. If you rebooted daily it may be OK. YMMV.
  • Reply 5 of 5
    sunilramansunilraman Posts: 8,133member