Future Switcher, requires advice.

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hey everyone,

To get straight to the point. I hate Windows, I hate Microsoft. I love OS X, I love Apple. At the moment i'm stuck running XP (Modded to look like OS X though ). However, I plan to buy a Mac when Leopard is launched. But the thing is i'm not sure what to get .

I'm a student, so I don't have un-limited funds to buy any Mac i choose.

The Macs i'm looking at are the following:

MacBook

* 1.83GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

* 512MB memory

* 60GB hard drive

* Combo drive

* £749

17 Inch iMac

* 1.83 GHz

* 512MB memory

* 160GB hard drive

* 24x Combo drive

* Intel GMA 950 graphics

* £679.00

Then i'm also considering getting a Mini (Either of them).

Here's what i'm running now:

Windows Xp Home Edition SP2

Intel Celeron

2.67 GHz

192Mb of RAM

It runs really slowly, i'm putting that down to the really low amount of RAM (On the subject of RAM, would buying an upgrade- say adding 512 mbs on. Would i see an increase in speed? I'd still want to get a Mac, but other family members would use my PC so it would help them)

I guess telling you all what i'm going to use my Mac for will help you help me decide which one is best for me.

90% of the time I will be using (Running at the same time):

iTunes

Web Browser

IM client

Word Processor

Obviously, i'll use iMovie, iPhoto etc too and I play games a few hours a week. Occasionally, doing some graphical stuff on Photoshop too. That's all I really use my Computer for.

So what would you advise me to get (Please bare in mind I'm only willing to spend more on the iMac/MacBook if the Mini really won't run as fast as I want it to.

What I want to know basically is:

How much faster does an iMac/MacBook run compared to a Mini?

Will the iMac run any faster than the Macbook or vice-versa?

Thank you all in advance.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 17
    irelandireland Posts: 17,798member