which ntoebook is right for me?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hey,

I'm new to the community, whats up everyone?

I am a student, amateur photographer and filmmaker, medium-core gamer, and love to tinker with small electronics and my machines. I'm pretty convinced that OSX is going to work great for me, after test-driving my friend's machines and going to the Apple store. I love the aesthetics of Apple's laptops, and the fact that they will run x86-based OSes now (ie WinXP and my various Linux incarnations) makes Apple almost a slam-dunk.

I am, however, concerned about which laptop to purchase. I don't have a ton of money, but $2000 for the MBP (+whatever i pay for another gig of RAM) isn't completely out of the question. I also travel a ton, and portability / battery life is an issue to consider. Initially, i figured that it was a no-brainer to get the 13.3inch MB and just shove a big hard drive and a lot of RAM in it. Then i realized i wanted to edit masses of RAW files in Aperture and PSCS2/3 with freaking Intel integrated graphics, and the $1600 i was ready to spend can get me a ThinkPad with very similar specs and a FireGl card in it. Hmmmm...

The MacBook Pro offers me a lot more juice, and the x1600 will be fine for whatever photo/film stuff i wanna do. It also seems to be a battery hog, and the only substantial reviews i have found on it say that the macbook pro didn't perform horribly well when tested under WinXP under 3d gaming use. However, i think that this applies to the Core Duo version, not the Core 2 duo. I can't find much information on the newer model and how it runs with WinXP.

Basically, i have two questions:

1. How are your experiences with the MacBook for dealing with RAW/TIFF files in a photoshop or aperture environment? Will it work well when i need it? (ie when i'm in the 3rd world and need to edit photos under battery power.)