iPod Camera Connector

Posted:
in iPod + iTunes + AppleTV edited January 2014
im going to holiday to ibiza in june (wooooo!!!!!) and im going to be taking my camera. i was just thinking, ok, im going to take more that 200 pics (the number of 5mp shots my memory card can hold) and was thinking of the cheapest way to increase the amount of storage i could get. new memory card? no, £18. then i thought about the ipod camera connector. thats only £20 from the apple store (but id get it from eBay). ive got a 5g iPod, so it should work fine. the camera is a Sony DSC-W1, which isnt on the supported camera list on the apple site \

will it work with my camera and has anyone had any problems with it?

thanks for any feedback

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    I have no personal experience using a iPod/Camera Connector to download pictures, but on camera boards that combination is not highly thought of for that purpose as is extremely slow and very battery intensive for both iPod and camera.

Are you sure the 5GB iPod is even supported by the Camera Connector? Also, with a 5GB iPod I'm surprised you have any room on it for photos.

Have you checked memory card prices lately? Here in the States they've fallen dramatically and many stores have them on sale from time to time. I'm assuming that since your camera is a Sony you use memory sticks?

And finally, where the heck is Ibiza?
  • Reply 2 of 7
    mbaynhammbaynham Posts: 534member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by OldCodger73 View Post

I have no personal experience using a iPod/Camera Connector to download pictures, but on camera boards that combination is not highly thought of for that purpose as is extremely slow and very battery intensive for both iPod and camera.

Are you sure the 5GB iPod is even supported by the Camera Connector? Also, with a 5GB iPod I'm surprised you have any room on it for photos.