First Design MBP vs new MacBook

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hey guys,

I have been looking at buying a MacBook, the bottom end one just with a 120Gb HD stuffed into it, so it's 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1GB memory which ends up costing around the £730 (education discount, plus DVI adapter).

This was fine until last night when I was offered a MacBook Pro, the exact specs I am not sure of yet however from what I can tell it's the launch 15.4" MBP, 2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo, 1Gb ram, 100gb hard drive and 256mb X1600 graphics for £740...

Looking around the net it seems clear that the Core 2 Duo processors are faster than the Core Duos, however it doesn't seem like much of a jump and the dedicated graphics card is a big bonus along with the higher res screen.

However I am a bit stumped with which one is best for me, I'm a college student studying graphic design, so it's working with Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator etc for long periods of time with some pretty large files, and dabbling in Windows (via Parallels most likely) from time to time for a wee bit of gaming.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Cheers,

Stewart

Edit: Meant to say I'm upgrading from a G4 Mini if that helps anyone give a recommendation :P

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    You'll want the Core 2 Duo. Not Core Duo one.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by nvidia2008 View Post

You'll want the Core 2 Duo. Not Core Duo one.

Is Core 2 Duo significantly better? Most of the benchmarks I could find suggested a negligible increase in performance, mostly in things like MP3 encoding where it was only quicker by 3 or 4 seconds, nothing which is really noticeable.
  • Reply 3 of 12