Graphic Designer here, need to convince company I need a mac to do my job!

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hey guys,

I'm looking for the ultimate guru's for a Mac vs. PC debate in a corporate office/firm setting. Basically, trying to convince CEO and IT why I need a mac. I'm a graphic designer for a land development firm. Work close with Landscape Architects and Civil Engineers.

I'll take concept sketches and/or AutoCAD files (that are converted for me) and pretty them up in photoshop or illustrator, do planned development books in InDesign. Web services are offered, but it's not the primary vs. print.

I'm currently working on a Dual-Core Xeon Dell workstation windows XP. Years ago up until 04' I was all about PC, but now have been accustomed to my mac.

At home, I've got a Dual Dual-Core Xeon 2.66 that I love dearly, multitasks very well.

I need to write up a report how this will communicate how I do my job better if i have a mac. I know that's a far-fetched statement, but trying to sell them on having me use a mac for my services while the entire office can cope with their PC network. I would appreciate any elaborate feedback and insight.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    guarthoguartho Posts: 1,208member
    Unfortunately you're probably up against the IT dept/guy that has said "I don't do Macs." Isn't it amazing that IT has that kind of freedom? Imagine if you told your employers "I don't do AutoCad files" or "I don't do InDesign, I only do Quark." For some reason IT guys get away with this stuff.

Anyway, I imagine the only way to defeat the phenomenal power of IT guys (or maybe just IT wannabes) is with numbers. Perhaps you can log the number of restarts, program crashes, etc. Honestly, if I were in your position, I'd be tempted to just bring my computer in to work and wow them with my increased productivity.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Guartho View Post