partition HDD with Tiger 10.4

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I'm new to Apple and trying to do my first computer with Apple software. I got a DVD of Tiger 10.4 to rev up the 10.1. In installing the software I wanted to partition the disk into a 10 GB part, and 30 GB part. This is the way I would do a Windows based disk.

I find the partitioning service - but things are grayed out. I can select 2 parts but they are equal in size and the ONE button mouse cannot move the partition line. The instructions say "cannot do this drive as it has the OS on it."

I cannot find my way back to "selecting the boot disk" with the external DVD. I see the internal HDD but not the external. I can browse to the DVD and see the files on it so I know the computer sees it.

I only have 1 user -as admin - since I just did the software install on Monday.

What am I missing??????

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    aloha, 2spurs

iʻm new to this kind of problem solving forum, but here goes . . .

only 1 idea comes 2 mind -

pull down menu from the blue apple icon, top right corner of your screen,

select "system preferences"

select "startup disk"

select "(name of your installation disk)"

thereʻs actually a shortcut - when you hard boot, you can hold down a key but i forgot which one, that forces the boot from the optical device drive. you can probably find the info for that in the"Help" pulldown while youʻre in Finder

from there you should be able to get to the partitioning service (i never did that on the internal hd, never had the guts)

hope this helps
  • Reply 2 of 6
    To boot from a (bootable disk in an) optical drive while starting up the computer you hold down the "c" key.

Mac OS X differs from Windows (also) in this respect: in a basic setup OS X really doesn't benefit from partitioning your drive. There's no need to do it - like you would do with a drive you're setting up for Windows.