Macbook Air vs Macbook

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hey all.

The Air is sweet and sexy for sure. Hey, it's apple. And yeah, I'm drooling....

BUT...

I am a web designer and photographer who travels alot. I want a small laptop to bring with me. But I want it to be able to handle flash animation, web design and photoshop among other things. It doesn't have to be Macbook Pro level...but I wonder if the new Air will suit my needs.

It is sexy alright, and almost absurdly thin and portable...which is great.

But only 80 gig HD? Even less on the pricey solid state drive(64gigs). I am worried that my photos alone would fill up the hard drive.

As sweet as this machine is, is it nothing more than a glorified email web surfing machine? Or can it handle the work I mentioned above?

Thanks. :-)

Comments

• Reply 1 of 113
    aiolosaiolos Posts: 228member
    I don't know how much you need the processor speed advantage of the macbook over the macbook air, you could always go to an Apple store to check that out. However, for the hard drive, if I were going to buy the Macbook Air, I would stick with the solid state hard drive, as it is much cheaper, and buy a external hard drive, and one of the portable small ones that are powered by the usb drive, like the WD Passport Drives, cause those are totally portable and minimal wires. Then again it's not like the Macbook is a huge Dell XPS notebook, so I would probably suggest that you go to the Apple Store, test each of them out, and decide how much money you want to spend and then make a choice.

Good Luck!
  • Reply 2 of 113
    reganregan Posts: 474member
    Thanks. But the solid state option on the Airbook is MORE expensive, not less and its only 64gigs. My ipod is practically 60gigs! But its suppose to be faster than the 1.8" drive in the 80gig option.