My next PC ...a MAC?

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
Hi,

I am since the early days (1984) a PC guy. I am a professor in a Business School an use a lot the standard office tools, but also some Business Symulations that are written in Visual BAsic. I am quite at ease with PCs and can be considered an advanced user of Windows (not a programmer though).

To make the final decision I wonder if somebody can answer these two questions.

1) Which are the reasons to swap from PC to MAC?

2) Which are the reasons NOT to swap from PC to MAC?

Finally a question to the ones that have changed already. Will it take long to learn to use Leopard at an advanced level (home network management)?

Best of all,

Francesco

Comments

• Reply 1 of 20
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,425member
    A Mac represents such a good value. Since we're not talking about a common hardware platform (Intel) it makes all the sense in world to choose a Mac in many cases. Run Windows or Linux at native speeds with Bootcamp or use Virtualization for simulataneous access.

Each OS has its advantages and disadvantages but the "Core" computing skills you develop in each apply across all of the OS IMO.

My next desktop will run Leopard/Vista/Ubuntu. That's so hot (/Hilton)
  • Reply 2 of 20
    Any business applications used on windows can be found for the mac. If there are applications compatible only for windows then you can use Bootcamp to dual boot windows.

I prefer Macintosh for ease of operating system and long term reliability of equipment.
  • Reply 3 of 20
    rickagrickag Posts: 1,626member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by doge1555 View Post

Hi,

I am since the early days (1984) a PC guy. I am a professor in a Business School an use a lot the standard office tools, but also some Business Symulations that are written in Visual BAsic. I am quite at ease with PCs and can be considered an advanced user of Windows (not a programmer though).