Really Need Some Opinions And Advice!

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hi, Im finally making the switch to mac and I am really stuck with what to go for.

Im an advertising student and use macs at uni so need to use them at home now too! and need to get used to the operating system for working in industry - and I fancy the change! I will mainly be using the mac for design and graphic work, with some music/video etc! It also has to be protable so I can take it to and from uni to work on it.

I have decided so far that my options are either a full spec macbook or full spec 15" macbook pro. I cant decide if the bigger screen and graphics card justify the £500 jump. Also the pro has the illuminated key pad, 2GB ram and better quality display - and is a more modern machine and will last longer I assume.

I need my first mac to last a good 3 years if not more and im worried the macbook might become outdated sooner than the pro.

Another thought was to get a bottom spec imac and macbook for the best of both.

What would you do it if were you? I would love everyones opinions on this as I really am stuck. I cant decide which i prefer and whether it is just the money that is the issue. Considering the type of work i will be doing on the mac, is the pro really that much more suitable???

Finally, can someone tell me how to get onto the higher education store on the apple website as I am eligible for the discount but cant get onto this store from my home - or could someone tell me what percentage discount I can get?

Thanks for any advice you can give me!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    backtomacbacktomac Posts: 4,579member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by r-41157 View Post

Hi, Im finally making the switch to mac and I am really stuck with what to go for.