Desired Features for MacBook Pro

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
I'll be ordering the next update of the 17" MacBook Pro, and I am interested in knowing what all the people waiting to purchase are hoping for in desired features. I'm a professional video editor and will be using this system with Final Cut Studio editing HD video. Here is what I would like:

2.8Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo

4GB RAM (probably installed cheaper by a third party)

250GB Serial ATA @ 7200rpm

17-inch High-resolution Widescreen Display (1920x1080) Matte

HDMI output for monitoring video/audio on external LCD broadcast monitor

eSATA port for connecting external hard drive for media capture & storage

FireWire 400 port for capturing video from cameras

FireWire 800 port for possible use with AJA IO HD

Ethernet port

2 x USB 2 ports for peripheral devices

Blu-Ray SuperDrive (for future use with DVD Studio Pro 5)

multi-touch trackpad (for use in Final Cut Studio to scale & rotate images)

Black/backlight keyboard

Comments

• Reply 1 of 23
    Ugh, another MacBook Pro thread! But since you started it and it's up my alley, I'll respond...

2.6Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo with 45nm process (Penryn)

4GB RAM — Apple charges too much for its memory

250GB Serial ATA @ 7200rpm

17-inch High-resolution Widescreen Display (1920x1080) Matte — should be standard

HDMI output for monitoring video/audio on external LCD broadcast monitor (probably not)

eSATA port for connecting external hard drive for media capture & storage (nope, not going to happen)

Standard USB, Firewire, and networking ports

Blu-Ray SuperDrive (for future use with DVD Studio Pro 5) — would be nice

multi-touch trackpad (for use in Final Cut Studio to scale & rotate images) — most likely going to come over from the MBA

Black/backlight keyboard — that definitely needs to come from MBA

Plus:

User removeable hard drive

Magnetic latch

LED In 17-inch MBP
  • Reply 2 of 23