Bi-Endian G4s & Windows Compatibility

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
First off let me state that I have limited knowledge in processor design and system architecture, but my curiosity has led me to question the possibilities of compatibility with Windows programs on OS X with limited or no emulation.

What first led me to question this is a statement made by someone on AI about the G4 being bi-endian (most of my argument is based on the validity of this and the presumption that the other endian state is little) if all of this is BS please inform me.

If the G4?s state can be altered to little endian how monumental a task would it be to program a low level framework using Windows API?s (perhaps borrowing from <a href="http://www.winehq.com/"; target="_blank">WINE</a>) that works with the scheduler to switch the G4 ?s state to process Windows programs, what type of emulation would be required to allow for this. If it isn?t possible to do so, what benefit if any would Virtual PC gain if endian state could be switched?

Yes, I know it?s a pipe dream but I think it?s worth discussing.

[ 06-04-2002: Message edited by: DiscoCow ]</p>

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    thuh freakthuh freak Posts: 2,664member
    g4s, (as well as g3s and ALL powerpc chips, as well as the older motorola 68k line) are not bi-endian, they are biG-endian (opposite to little). Big-endian means Most Significant Byte first, and little endian is Least SigByte first. And, "endianness" is not really a huge issue to get around in terms of programming. It refers to the ordering of bytes on disk/disc and in memory. the bytes can be swapped in a fairly simple method, which has even been provided by apple. so i dont think that endianness is the issue.