How to access newly installed HD?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
The 160GB HD on my 2x2GB G5 has only got 7.9GB left due to memory intensive software: FCP, Logic 8 etc. I therefore installed a 2nd drive, a 500GB HD, bought from an Apple store. Its icon sits on the desktop, so everything is fine.

I am self-taught with everything computer and usually find answers in my computer books, but not this time.

How can I now utilize the new 500GB disk as my working disc?/Startup disc? I believe, the OS + other software must be installed on the new drive, or can it be transferred from the nearly depleted 160GB drive. I do not have much content in photos or other files on this drive, its mainly software.

I edit FCP on external LaCie drives (300+500GB)

The newly installed disc does not show up on in preferences/startup disc panel, probably because it does not contain the OS.

My question again: How can I access the newly installed 500GB Harddrive as my working/startup disc? http://forums.appleinsider.com/image...ies/1oyvey.gif

Comments

• Reply 2 of 14
    mr. hmr. h Posts: 4,870member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by bbwi View Post

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1310?viewlocale=en_US

try this

That won't help. He'll need to install OS X on the 500 GB drive if he wants to boot from it.

My question to Camman is: why do you want to boot off the 500 GB drive? Why not just use that as additional storage?

Anyway, if you really want to boot off that 500 GB drive, grab yourself Carbon Copy Cloner and use it to "clone" your 160 GB drive to the 500 GB drive. Then set the 500 GB drive as your boot volume and make sure everything is working OK from that drive before erasing the 160 GB one.
  • Reply 3 of 14
    bbwibbwi Posts: 812member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Mr. H View Post

That won't help. He'll need to install OS X on the 500 GB drive if he wants to boot from it.