Core i7 Macs

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
With the imminent and much needed updates to the entire desktop line, I wanted to have a thread to discuss the Core i7. I am no expert, but from my research it seems like this CPU is a major leap in performance. It essentially allows a quad core to perform as if it had eight cores. I think it is unlikely that Apple will use the Core i7 in the Mini or iMac due to heat issues and the Mac Pro will likely get the much more expensive server version of the i7.

Currently you can buy a Core i7 PC tower for about $1,200 with an ATI 4850 Core i7 Tower That computer easily blows away the current top of the line iMac and probably would even beat the Mac Pro in raw speed at certain tasks. With all the talk about about the new iMac using a quad core, I have heard nothing about the possibility of that being an i7 quad core. How can Apple possibly compete if it sticks with the slower and older Intel line and completely ignores the i7? I am not trolling, I honestly want to know if anyone else is concerned that due to the emphasis on slim form factor we may be missing out on this incredible CPU.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 38
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,425member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by gwmac View Post

With the imminent and much needed updates to the entire desktop line, I wanted to have a thread to discuss the Core i7. I am no expert, but from my research it seems like this CPU is a major leap in performance. It essentially allows a quad core to perform as if it had eight cores. I think it is unlikely that Apple will use the Core i7 in the Mini or iMac due to heat issues and the Mac Pro will likely get the much more expensive server version of the i7.