I'm getting a little panicky...

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
The time is quickly approaching when I should decide which laptop that I will be buying for college. For the last year now, I have been 99% sure that I was going to be getting a Mac for college.

However, I do not know how to operate a Mac like I do windows. I consider myself an XP poweruser, but I will be a complete noob with Mac. I feel like I am moving houses -- I am having some serious doubt.

Someone please help me out. I really want to switch

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,326moderator
    Making assumptions that it will be vastly different from using Windows is generally the biggest stumbling block. A lot of the interface is intuitive to what you'd expect to happen. There are a number of differences of course but they directly correlate to Windows counterparts.

The Apple menu is like the Start menu.

The trash is in the dock.

The dock is like the taskbar but you can drag applications to it for quick launching.

The activity monitor is like the process viewer.

The terminal is like the DOS shell.

The applications folder is like the Program Files folder.

External devices don't have drive letters, they appear in the sidebar and desktop with the names of the drives.

The properties panels are the same as get info panels.

The apple-key or command key is not like the Windows key but like the control key. So where you hit ctrl-s to save in Windows, it's command-s.

The maximize, minimize, close buttons are on the left of the Window - maximize doesn't work the same as it does in Windows. This is partly because it's not needed in some cases as application menus are in the bar at the top instead of inside each application's window.

Disk Utility is Apple's drive formatting tool - you do not need to use a defrag tool.

There is no registry in OS X. Applications have preference files.

You'll pick things up as you go.
  • Reply 2 of 8