Mountain Lion focuses on Cocoa, drops X11 and deprecates Carbon Core

Comments

• Reply 41 of 98
    wizard69wizard69 Posts: 13,377member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by chabig View Post

I've been using Mac OS X for ten years and never used X11 once. I doubt many do and those people still have the means to install it.

Currently I have to reinstall XQuartz everytime the system gets updated. This is a pain so an open source only solution would actually be better. Then you have the problem of third party software building against different X11 tracts. From the users standpoint this should be much better.

The only concern is that Apple stops supporting XQuartz with their employees.
  • Reply 42 of 98
    wizard69wizard69 Posts: 13,377member
    Narrowly focused consumers maybe. But if you keep an open mind, you will find much in the way of useful X11 software.

Yes the ideal is Native Mac software but not everything is or will ever be native.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by tinman0 View Post

Consumers don't use X11, nor do businesses for that matter. I'm struggling to think what app other than Gimp uses X11 and frankly the Gimp developers have had long enough to port it properly to the Mac.

Apple are merely dropping stuff that most users don't need and don't care for.

Whether people like it or not, the Mac is becoming main stream and Apple don't need to pander to the likes of Java, X11 or Carbon developers any more. Either build for the Mac and OSX properly, or don't.

• Reply 43 of 98
    Quote:

Consumers don't use X11, nor do businesses for that matter. I'm struggling to think what app other than Gimp

Inkscape. GIMP's drawing sibling. As Illustrator is to Photoshop. I use both GIMP and Inkscape regularly.

And this change won't bother me. Anyone nerdy enough to know what GIMP or Inkscape are, is nerdy enough to install XQuartz. If you know you need it, you can install it. Otherwise it doesn't take up space.

- Jasen.
  • Reply 44 of 98
    Quote: