Apple provides additional details, renderings for Cupertino campus project

1235»

Comments

• Reply 81 of 94
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SolipsismX View Post

You mean a copy of a circle but not quite as accurate as it should be?

Given we can only approximate a circle I don't suppose this building will be quite accurate either
  • Reply 82 of 94
    umrk_labumrk_lab Posts: 550member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tune View Post

"O" is for original.

Roman Colosseum

The Colosseum is elliptic, actually
  • Reply 83 of 94
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Quazar View Post

I understand that circuit breakers have already been invented…

Also I would expect this to be a quality instillation…

FYI, I am an electrical engineer and have designed solar panel installations and have attended seminars on the subject. The wiring connecting the solar panels to the inverters in the building do not have over-current protection (circuit breakers). You cannot turn off a solar panel from producing electricity except by blocking it from sunlight. My neighbour is a firefighter that has put out fires of solar panels on roofs and he says the only thing they can do is cover them with blankets to stop the solar panels from producing electricity. He said it was funny because they thought they had it under control by night time, but the next morning when the sun came up, the solar panel started producing electricity again and the short circuit and resulting fire continued. Most installations are quality installations and I'm sure this one will be doubly so. New codes now call for the wiring to be in conduit wherever possible so birds cannot disturb the wiring. But in an installation this size, the odds go up that something could go wrong. There will be thousands of electrical splices connecting these panels to the electrical system. An earthquake or a windstorm could disturb the wiring. I would say it's not likely that a short circuit would happen but it can happen. And if