Rumor: Apple to launch 15-inch MacBook Air in April, 'effectively killing the Pro'

Comments

• Reply 101 of 184
    jragostajragosta Posts: 10,473member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by bigdaddyp View Post

After getting my grubby little hands on a 17" MacBook pro for a few days I have to agree. Lugging that big beast around would get old rather quickly. Even if it gets the air treatment that would still be to big to take everywhere. IMHO.

Really? I've been using my 17" MBP since 2006 and haven't found it to be too much to 'lug around'. Sure, it's a big computer, but unless you're incredibly weak, a 6 pound computer instead of a 3 pound computer shouldn't make THAT much of a difference.

Would I like it to be lighter? Sure. But I wouldn't claim that it's not usable because of the size.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by SolipsismX View Post

In CPU performance? In GPU performance? In drive performance? The only one that is likely is in drive performance because a 7200 RPM HDD is slow.

I think the point is that in terms of usability and responsiveness, the Air is faster than a MBP for the average user. Again, keep in mind that the quote that started this thread was that a 15" MBA would kill of the Pro FOR THE AVERAGE USER. The average non-pro user isn't doing anything that requires massive CPU or GPU performance, so most people would see a 15" Air with SSD as being at least equal to a conventional 15" Pro with HDD.
  • Reply 102 of 184
    saareksaarek Posts: 1,523member
    I think people are being a tad short sighted here. Yes a 15" version of the air wouldn't be a "Pro" replacement.

But if they were to meld the air design into a 15" chassis, remove the optical drive and use all the additional space to build in the required logic boards etc to include Ethernet & additional FireWire/TB ports I reckon they'd be on to a winner.

A best of breed if you will.
  • Reply 103 of 184
    paxmanpaxman Posts: 4,729member
    Quote: