Apple to build 200K 15-in. MacBook Pros in April, 400K 13-in. units in June

Comments

• Reply 61 of 102
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by zoetmb View Post

Because in a Pro portable device, I don't want something external that could be internal. And I still use the optical drive to receive files that are too big to email from other people and to transfer files from a non-networkable standalone CD-R drive. And I also burn music for people. As cheap as USB hard drive keys are, they're not as cheap as a blank CD-R.

In addition, some people still prefer DVDs (and Blu-rays for that matter) to streaming and downloadable files. What it really comes down to is why should I lose functionality when I "upgrade" to a new machine.

I agree with those who wonder what the difference is going to be between a MBA and a MBP. I would also consider a small solid-state drive to be a downgrade as well. I've put a 750GB drive into my MBP and that's what I need. As a consultant, I do lots of work for clients who do not want their files in the Cloud.

I think Apple is going to be making a big mistake if they don't maintain a distinction between these lines. They will lose the high-end users. If they want to have thin machines with solid state drives and no optical drive for people who mainly consume content, that's fine -- that's what the MBA line is for.

I do not want to trade hard disk space and the optical drive for slightly more speed and battery life - that's not a good tradeoff for me. The way Apple has responded to consumers' needs in the past is to have multiple lines of products and with customizations within each line. They need to maintain that. One size does not fit all.

Arr! Use a file-sharing site, all the other pirates, *ahem* consultants, use them.
  • Reply 62 of 102
    jragostajragosta Posts: 10,473member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Macky the Macky View Post