Apple making sparse use of Swift in its own apps, engineer claims

Comments

• Reply 21 of 49
    msanttimsantti Posts: 1,377member
    Well, was a great operations guy. Jobs was quoted as saying Cook was not.

The watch does sort of seem like a Cook thing though.

it does NOT seem like it would have been a Jobs thing.

if Jobs were alive and well, I think there would be something that we do not have now.

i don't think Cook has that forward vision, at least not as products do.
    edited January 2016 Deeeds
  • Reply 22 of 49
    neutrino23neutrino23 Posts: 1,562member
    Swift is really interesting. I've been away from software engineering for a while. I studied C the Obj-C and Swift is much easier to grasp. 

However, Swift is still very new. If Swift is changing you don't want to use it for something you'll have to go back and rewrite. 
  • Reply 23 of 49

After 20 years away from hands-on development, I'm now learning Swift thanks to the excellent free training in iTune U (thanks, Stanford U!) and the free language books from Apple. I find it powerful and nicely concise due to its automatic inference of types and automatic memory management.

Apple's recent open-sourcing of Swift could lead to broader adoption at Universities, even if they don't have Mac hardware. (... once Swift compilers & IDEs are available on other platforms)
    Paul Hegarty is the best instructor, bar none, that I've seen in thousands of hours of attending and teaching classes in programming skills -- spanning 59 years.

One problem, however is that Swift is a young language that is evolving rapidly ...

Apple, IBM, educators, publishers and the open source community must assure that their content keeps pace with the Swift language evolution!

Still, Swft is less than 2 years old and, I suspect, has better acceptance than any other language at that young age.  For Example CoBOL took 10 years:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/COBOL#History_and_specification