Developer alleges spotting new Apple TV model, unannounced 'tvOS 11' in use logs

Comments

• Reply 21 of 45
    boltsfan17boltsfan17 Posts: 2,294member
    I hope Apple releases a 4K HDR Apple TV soon. I bought one of those Roku Ultra players back in November and that thing has been a complete nightmare. The Roku Ultra has a well known bug when you select a 4K HDR TV as a display device. Video and sound constantly cut out trying to watch any HDR content on Amazon and Netflix. It's not an app issue so HDR support is currently broken on Roku. 
  • Reply 22 of 45
    sog35 said:
    sog35 said:

It really was unacceptable that ATV4 did not have 4k.
    Complete nonsense. 15 months ago even fewer people cared about 4k than they do today. The mass market consumer is still happy w/ 1080p (anecdotally, I'm an enterprise developer and I have no plans to replace my 1080p plasma any time soon, especially with a crummier LCD tv). iTunes doesn't even offer any 4k content and nobody is crying about it, they certainly weren't 15 months ago.

Will the new ATV offer it? Very likely. But that doesn't mean Apple needed to be engaged in the spec wars at its earliest opportunity. Ain't how Apple rolls, bubba. You should know that, but not knowing it is why you're a poor investor.
    No 4k content?  How about those friken 4k videos you've been filming on you iPhone 6s and iPhone 7 the past 2 years? Or even damn photos that have a higher resolution than 1080p?
    We don't wait around for every screen and every set top in the world to get around to 4k FIRST before we start shooting in 4k. No, we start shooting in 4k as soon as it is possible to do so, for the sake of the CONTENT for the future.

90% of people still have 1080p TVs, no one is rushing out to buy 4k. Very little need for it at all in the living room. It is a long slow eventuality that no one anywhere is in any hurry to make prevalent.
    edited March 2017
  • Reply 23 of 45
    sog35 said:
    sog35 said: