or Connect

Posts by SchnellFowVay

Some of you guys are waaayyyy toooo harsh on Balmer. Was he a maniac? Of course. But so was Steve Jobs, in a much more private, reserved sort of way. Most successful people are in one way or another. Balmer also led MS through a sustained period of unheard-of profitability in MS's market-dominating segments. From an investor's standpoint (i.e. company owners'), Balmer wasn't too shabby. Obviously, he has routinely dropped the ball on the media and tablet fronts. ...
 I am a tax attorney, and I can verify that some states charge sales tax on the full contract price. It only makes sense. Otherwise, the rest of the price goes untaxed and it creates a strong incentive to sell things under financing contract.For example, California and Nevada operate in this manner. So even though your iPhone 5 costs you $199, you pay sales tax on the entire $550 price of the phone, the same way you would if you had just purchased the handset without a...
  I think everyone in here understands that (or they do now).   But I guess the bigger question that I was raising was simply, "what's the point?"   I have never heard a professional say the Mac Pro was too large.  What is great about a small cylinder shape that it outweights the annoyance of having a gazillion external drives and cables?   Maybe if this thing was a true revolution in performance I might be more inclined to say, "yeah, it's worth it."  But it's going to...
I love how (predictably) the comments on this thing are split between people who love it and think it's perfect, and people who hate it and think it's a disaster.    The reality is that it's probably going to land somewhere in between.   My personal preference would have been a more standard PC-Style box with easy upgradeability.  But I can that this appears to be a marvel of packaging, etc.  I can respect that.   I also expect Apple to release some sort of...