or Connect

Posts by EricTheHalfBee

I've been a software engineer for years and I know and have worked with many others in my field. I think software should receive additional protection through patents. Others I know are 100% against software patents. I also think software should be monetized - if you create a new algorithm you should get compensated. Others I know think software should all be open and free and you should never have to pay for something like Office. Most engineers I know think the way I...
 Samsung sold 200 millions Galaxy variants since they first launched. Over the same time frame Apple sold 430 million iPhones. It's not even close. The only reason Samsung can show such "big numbers" for "smartphones" is they include a lot of junk in that 82 million phones they sold. The GS4 only sold about 12-15 million last quarter (according to Samsung), the Note sells far less. So what makes up the other 50-60 million "smartphones" Samsung says they sold?
A few more things.   - If you're a student MS will give you a 4 year subscription for $79. Or $19.75 per year. That's a bargain. - Office 365 includes Outlook, Access (a biggie) and Publisher (not so much). You also get 60 minutes of Skype per month and the extra 20GB OneDrive for all 5 users (100GB free online storage is a big deal for me as well). - If I buy a version of Office for home it doesn't come with Outlook, Access, Publisher, OneDrive or Skype.
I have an Office 365 subscription. I think it's a great idea. $99 a year for all my family is, IMO, a deal. However, the $70 for one user is too much.I've got hundreds of documents from 30 years ago created on Wordstar and WordPerfect. I don't have any difficulty accessing them. It took me less than an hour to code a program to read the files, strip out un-needed data and even convert popular formatting codes/commands to modern equivalents.To claim a typewriter would have...