or Connect

Posts by GregAlexander

I haven't looked into the specifications for water proofing for 20 years, since I worked as a Divemaster.   But I remember at the time that a watch pressure tested to 200m was given a 50m rating. Pressure testing to 100m (as my cheap watch was) was rated for swimming. Pressure test to 50m and it was able to be used in the rain without a problem.   I had thought it was a funny system - but essentially it's a very controlled test that allows standardised comparisons...
Does anyone else think there's not really much about the Apple Watch in this article, it's mainly about the phones?
I kind of wonder why the scanning components couldn't be separate to the watch. That way perhaps those health components could be built into a water proof band with a longer battery life (no screen & interface), and be usable in bed and in the pool. Probably a bad idea having 2 'devices'
 We're borderline on 1TB now... does it work if we go over? I'd much rather buy 200GB/year and have it use my home iMac as the master copy.  Put a full-quality version of images online at first (plus any recent changes), then once the appropriate syncing is finished keep the full copy only on my home Mac and keep a compressed copy online. 
Where does wifi factor into this? And why aren't there multinational MVNOs? We need handsets that use wifi for most calls, switch to cellular very cleanly when wifi quality drops, and uses the stratosphere towers when out of cellular range (or to augment data provision).