or Connect

Posts by BrianCPA

Very informative. Thank you. I'll still be hopeful that someday I'll be able to choose to specific programming I want. If enough people move away from cable, I see these providers looking for alternative revenues streams but, as you mentioned, exclusivity agreements are a huge hurdle to that.
 Yes, for a fee. I think you can do it by episode or pay for the season pass. This is my first time buying a season pass on iTunes and, a few hours after the show airing, it was available in iTunes. Otherwise, Netflix won't have it until next October. I'll have to check it out. I'm not up-to-date at all on shows at all. Everyone keeps telling me about Sons of Anarchy, Game of Thrones, and, now, your suggestion... none of which I've seen.
 Never said it was a premium channel, just one that requires a cable subscription to watch. While Netflix has all prior seasons now, I was referring to a season pass for the current season that just starting airing.
 Baseball is the one thing I miss without cable. MLB has been talking about trying to update its outdated blackout policy, which might mean the ability to watch local games on MLB.TV. I'm hoping that more and more stations move towards "standalone" options for non-cable customers. There is a large amount of money to be made by offering cord cutters access to the select programming they want. For instance, I wonder how much AMC makes per household from airing Walking Dead...
 "But what about the children?!"
 Exactly. There's no "back door" installed on my house by the builders that only the police hold the key to. Nor a "police remote" made by my car's manufacturer that unlocks my trunk. Nor should there be a backdoor access point created by Apple on my cell phone just in case the FBI thinks they need to see what's in it. I get that technology changes the way our criminal justice system works but asking that all our data be easily accessible when they ask for it is absurd. I...