or Connect

Posts by Durandal1707

I know, right? People who own Thunderbolt devices might leave the platform. Both of them!
Nope.
The prices in 2007 for both products was $79.99 (source). Today, the price for Parallels is still $79.99, and the price for VMWare Fusion has dropped a whopping $10 to $69.99.Both products of course frequently participate in promotions in order to compete with each other and secure market share.All of which would be negated by switching to ARM.Ballmer hasn't been in charge of MS for almost a year.Windows still controls something like 90% of the PC market. Windows...
I'm a software developer — I know the difference between virtualization and emulation, thanks. It is not highly relevant to this discussion, which is why I'm opting for simplicity in this case. The average Joe lumps every technology which runs one operating system on top of another under the umbrella of "emulation."With a change from Intel to ARM, we would get much slower speeds. Think about how your debating would have gone if Apple had switched the other direction at...
Mac's what?Swift has nothing to do with any of that.Swift is not a "piece necessary for a seamless x86->ARM transition."Xcode has been able to build for both x86 and ARM since 2007, and it's been able to build fat binaries since 2005 (Apple themselves have been making fat binaries since the 680x0->PPC transition in 1994). None of this has anything to do with Swift. Yes, Swift can be compiled for both x86 and ARM. Also, Objective-C can be compiled for x86 and ARM. So can C....
Why do people keep bringing up Swift in this? Swift has nothing whatsoever to do with processor architectures. It's a programming language. It has nothing more to do with Intel vs. ARM than what font Apple uses for the menu bar.