or Connect

Posts by DarkRail

Am I missing something?  I've been using my iPhone as a "central command" for my home for two years:  most lights, HVAC, gate, garage door, etc.  I use Insteon devices and the MobiLinc app.  This isn't a future prediction, this is old news.     Maybe I need a job as an analyst.  I hereby predict that someday we'll be able to use our phones to throw disgruntled birds at architecturally crafty pigs.  
  "NewsRack" is pretty great.  I use it exclusively with my Google Reader account.  Easy to add or delete subscriptions.  It's fast and very simple (be sure to turn off the silly, cumbersome "newspaper look" graphic mode on the iPhone), and everything always stays in sync between iPhone/iPad/desktop.  Been using it daily for years, love it.  
Thank you! I have now adopted your "five seconds of hate" policy. I used to just flit my eyes away from such ads, try not to see them, but I like your thinking much better. I also applaud the 1984 allusion in your method's title. Regarding the Google Maps ads, a little perspective: While I'm strongly against letting adware into the core of the iPhone, at the same time I'm so thankful that we're arguing about a relatively small flaw here. The iPhone's overall...
Hey, I think we agree. Just based on the number of people here that seem bothered by the new ads, I'm not the only person who doesn't like flies in my soup. And you're right: Google's "flies" are far less annoying than the way most companies do it. That said, I'd personally prefer to have no annoyances whatsoever. Apple has always bet that a segment of us will feel this way. Instead of suggesting this to Google though, I'll just keep supporting Apple for their...