or Connect
New Posts  All Forums:

Posts by matt_s

Good. Be happy. Nobody wants to take away your candy. Use it. Enjoy it. But don't disparage others who don't want what they consider to be the destructive editing of these new "features" in their workflow. I am not the only person who finds these functions troublesome, there are new Apple Scripts appearing all over the net to delete versions &/or trim "Auto-Slave," as so many people are calling it now. This in no way prohibits you from using these functions nor is it meant...
Very funny, actually. But not as dramatic as you might imagine. Sometimes, they can be 100-140 pages, double-sided, and contain hundreds of photographs (property, etc.), maps, survey data, charts, tables, embedded floatation contracts, et al.Markus 4711 on the Apple Discussion boards found a way to delete versions:He enabled the root user with Directory Utility, logged into Terminal as root and did a cd /rm -Rf .DocumentRevisions-V100I tried this, and it works. It's SUPER...
That's the first good, solid suggestion received in this forum, thank you. We are in the process of packing up ~60-some new MacBook Airs we purchased for return to Apple. We're going back to SL 10.6.6 - 10.6.8 until such time as Apple deems it suitable to return some level of user control to their new OS. Don't care much for all the nannying & bossin' around delivered by Lion. thanks again, have a great weekend (or what's left of it anyway! :-)
Are you even in the business world? What is the deal with you? Do you even get close to writing or composing in volume? You have no reasonable, concrete or helpful suggestions nor solutions to a very real predicament, and forced legal violations, you're bereft of any idea or spark, so instead you decide to simply crap on me. Nice out. Well done! Smooth. Brilliant. You're shining yet again. The Apple Lion Discussion board is jammed full of people struggling with this...
This "new" way of working with documents takes way too much time.I might need to alter one word in a contract & send it to an athlete's agent for perusal. I would not want my 1.2GB template DUPLICATED nor SAVED in any other format. If that's the new way, it's also the wrong way.If you DUPLICATE a file, and open it to work on it, when you close it, the OS SAVES it, even though you did not want it to. Now you have a version of a CONFIDENTIAL document on your machine, and...
It does not serve the same function, if you think about it more than a second. Have you even used this?
How do we then do a contract change if the document is locked?We want to leverage same-same verbiage between customers or governments. There's no SAVE AS command any longer, and even when you CLOSE a document, it gets SAVED. We may or may not want it to be SAVED. Why won't our machines do our bidding anymore?This hand-waving response of yours was not well thought out nor very helpful. It also doesn't address the even more critical issue - having confidential documents...
I never said it saved versions as full documents. I've watched daily over the past 2 weeks how auto-save eats my storage space. Multiple versions of very large documents (1.2GB or more) take up room, even if they're just layers. It's well optimized I think (except for the constant spinning beachball) ... but it still absolutely requires additional space that previously stayed free. I wish it could be disabled.In my practice, I work on 60-90 contracts a month, often...
You can't switch off Auto-Save or Versions. Those are the problems. They need work, they need much more thought behind them, and they need a way to OPT OUT. It's truly bad practice to have multiple saved versions of confidential documents floating around, pinned to some text app. It's plainly ridiculous. And as it goes forward, multiplying one version upon another, ad infinitum, storage space gets gobbled up at an alarming rate. Oh, wait a minute, isn't there somebody out...
The whole thing is a big step back. Auto-save prohibits the user from making any test version of a contract or document, the Apple way is to save everything, make multiple versions and eat, eat, eat up disk space to sell, sell, sell more via iCloud. So, you inadvertently make a mistake on a document and iCloud whisks it away, forcing the error-laden doc to all of your instruments. I've been fighting in Pages with this boneheaded auto-save el crapo rio system for 2 weeks...
New Posts  All Forums: