or Connect

Posts by zoetmb

(Again, I'm not a copyright lawyer, but I have designed software that details and clears rights, so I have just enough knowledge to be dangerous.) I don't think anyone is getting paid yet for pre-1972 digital performance rights under state law as all the cases are in the process of being appealed.     And yes, if the claimants win, and the writer and performer are the same, they would receive both publishing and performing fees, but note that only some performers own...
If you're talking only about "hits" and hits as songs that made the charts, you're not talking about that many songs:   between 1955 and 1999 only 23,144 songs made the Billboard Pop charts, although that doesn't include album tracks that weren't singles and didn't make the charts, "turntable hits", or songs that made the R&B/Soul, Country or Jazz charts that didn't make the Pop charts.    If we prorate that for 1955-1972, it's probably under 8000 songs.  If you take those...
While it might be good for a few things, this seeming desire to manipulate virtual objects with finger motions in the air seems absurd. Try holding your arm up in the air for extended periods of time while moving your fingers - it's actually stressful. Furthermore, accuracy has to be quite poor. Windows laptops that also happen to have a touch screen tend to drive me nuts - if I'm pointing at something on the screen to make a point to someone else, the screen thinks...
These suits are ridiculous.  Streets and buildings?    How about the very first edition of "Castle Wolfenstein" in the early 1980s on an Apple ][?    Horizontal navigation?   I was responsible for publishing a dinosaur game that had horizontal navigation on an Apple ][ also in the early 1980s.   As far as I'm concerned, concepts such as rooms, streets, horizontal navigation and geometric views of objects are all "obvious" and shouldn't be patentable, although the methods...