or Connect

Posts by apple4life07

I think they explained the subject matter perfectly at a 10,000 foot view. However, the details of what's really going on would require a far too lengthy post and too much technical jargon. If Stephen Hawking met with me to explain how a blackhole works, I'm fairly confident I might get lost...that doesn't mean he doesn't know what he's talking about. In short, go back to post #35 on page 1 and reread. "...there may actually be a legit reason that they're charing $0.99...
That is HORRIBLE logic. If that were the case, I wouldn't have believed a damn thing I was taught in college. I didn't say I CAN'T understand. I simply said I don't understand it enough to re-explain it. I.E. I don't have the luxury of setting aside a bunch of time to learn it. It's not my area of expertise. My background is mathematics, data analysis, SQL, and the like. I'm quite confident I'm smart enough to understand it.
Go over to MacRumors and start on page 6 or so. There is plenty more explanation as to why they do have to charge for it from qualified individuals. I don't have the accounting understanding to re-explain it, unfortunately.
I can't take credit for my post. It was posted by a user named benson304 on MacRumors. It and subsequent posts help form a very good explanation of why this most likely is going on. I don't have an accounting background, but thankfully some CPA's at a few of the Big 4 chimed in on the matter.
For me, it was more of an issue of the precedent it could potentially be setting. HOWEVER, after hearing some actual accounting reasoning on this, there may actually be a legit reason that they're charing $0.99 for it. I don't have an issue paying for something that I feel is worth the value. I do agree $0.99 is nothing, but at the same time, I'll just continue to use Skype for my needs. I've used the beta FaceTime on my Mac in the last few months, and I haven't really...