If you set this up do not lose that recovery key. It can mean the difference between getting back in and not.
When it drops with the new software it will be doubly important that you have your account info up to date along with your trusted devices. And remember that codes will go to all devices so be careful about sharing Apple IDs or losing track of a device. If you lose your iPhone, iPad etc go put it in lost mode so codes won't go to it.